Tripwire Alarm System Progress (182/365)

Hello one and all! I have done a lot of work today on Minecraft and I am actually writing this post earlier than usual (well okay, I published it late but I started working on it several hours before). You see, I have been lazy the past 2 weeks and I haven’t really felt like writing all of these posts. So, I would usually procrastinate and wait to write the post until I had about 30 minutes left. Bad habit.

As I said, I got a lot of work done today. Last night, I started work on my tripwire alarm system that I was talking about a couple days ago. I did a lot of testing to see if it would even work and it looks quite promising right now. But, I am a bit stuck right now. One of the things I am trying to do isn’t working quite as well as I would like it to. I will explain what I mean when we get to that part.

I also found a nice adventure map today. I will show off some pics of the map tomorrow probably.

And finally, some news. Tyler is now back from Germany. I believe he said that he was going to be back at 5 pm today so he has been home for a little bit now. He will start writing again next week, possibly Monday.

And now, onto the post.

So a couple days ago I had the idea of making a large security system using tripwires. It’s easy to make a tripwire system that turns on a couple lights or a block of TNT or something. But to hide it, make it still look nice, and make it a very efficient alarm system, that is something else entirely. Last night I downloaded the latest snapshot so that I could test out my idea. I started with a simple redstone circuit and moved on from there.

That is what I started with. I used the repeater circuit that I first learned from Tyler’s self-rebuilding bridge tutorial. Of course, the circuit was too small, and wouldn’t work well enough. So, I made it larger.

I then moved onto this. You can see that the circuits are larger, there is one on each side (although, I later removed that concept), and I have redstone lamps and noteblocks connected to them.

Works well enough. But I wanted there to be an off switch somehow. That proved difficult. Sure there are plenty of ways that I could turn it off easily but most of those ways would destroy a piece of redstone. I wanted a way to turn it off and have it still work without any additional work on it.

Then I found this plan.

Same system, but there is now a turn-off switch.

Now perhaps this is a glitch, or perhaps I am just dumb for not discovering this earlier, but a redstone current seems to travel through a dirt block, or any block for that matter, if you use redstone repeaters on one end. That’s the best way I can describe it.

You see that grass block in that corner of the circuit. Yeah, redstone travels through it. My second switch activates a piston which pulls that block down and then kills the circuit. Flip the switch again and the circuit will work again once the wire is tripped.

Anyway, now that I knew that my system would hypothetically work, I decided to test it out in the field. I spawned next to a fairly large village which would serve as a nice place to test out my security system. I have four entrances, and I plan to have a tripwire in each location. But for now, I am just going to work on one.

Here is the entrance. I put the fence around it so that mobs can’t trigger the alarm, only players. I figure that if I can get this to work I will use it in Kool-Craft or another PvP server. Oh, and ignore that circuit to the right at the moment. That thing is causing me headaches.

So when you trip the wire there is a noteblock and a lamp that are activated. I will eventually place several all over the village.

This is a work-in-progress. This is the headache inducer. I want to make a wall of lava come down so that the intruder can’t escape. In order to do that, without destroying the tripwire, I need to have blocks come up from the ground, and to do that I need to make what seems to be a fairly complicated redstone circuit.

There is the noteblock. I will probably cover it with dirt instead of glass but it will stay underground most likely.

And there is the lamp. I am not so sure about this. I sort of want it underground but then it has to be covered with glass but that doesn’t conceal it very well. Again, I am trying to hide every bit of my system as much as possible.

Here is the system I am trying to mess with right now. Not working so well. I want the pistons to come up when the wire is tripped, and I want them to stay up. That part was easy. But then I want there to be a way that I can retract the pistons and still have them be activated if an intruder shows up. If you have any idea on how I could do this then please let me know.

That’s all for today guys. I will keep you updated on this project. I hope I can find a way to make this work. I have a Plan B and a Plan C right now, but they are either more complicated or they require the use of a mod.

Tomorrow I will have a post about the new adventure map that I found. Here is a picture preview.

Also, I just wanted to mention that today marks the halfway point. With the completion of this post, we have written a post every day for the last six months. Six more to go.

Thanks for reading, stay tuned for tomorrow’s post, Tyler will start writing again this week, and finally, Happy Mining!

 

Leave a Reply

