Minecraft Xbox 360 Edition Update and More News (195/365)

Tyler was excited this morning when he found out that the Xbox 360 edition got an update, and rightfully so. The 360 edition has now caught up to Beta 1.7.3. If you have this game then all you need to do is start the game while connected to the internet and it will ask you if you would like to download the latest version. Easy!

The most notable additions to the game are:

  • Pistons (normal and sticky)
  • Shears
  • Stackable fences
  • Character Skin Selector

As Tyler explained in an earlier post, the skin selector works much differently than the computer version. You can choose one of the default skins or you may use a skin from the Downloadable Content pack. So, basically, if you want a better/cooler skin then you will need to fork over a little more money. Also, you can’t customize your skin. Shame.

For the full change log click here.

In other news, I reported earlier that Mojang was holding a couple contests. One of them, the contest for a cover photo on Facebook, is now over for the month of July. The winner was chosen and the award went to Nick Ladd. Here is his drawing.

Not only is the picture awesome, but the drawing and design is great. This is based off the famous painting, A Sunny Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte, by Georges Seurat. This picture is now displayed as the cover photo for the official Minecraft Facebook page. Congrats Nick!

Finally, tomorrow will be a good day for me. Tomorrow is the day that I buy a new computer. Earlier I had thought about buying a gaming computer, but when I looked at the prices for some of the better computers I decided that price was more important than quality for me. I believe that I chose a laptop that will be good overall. Let’s put it this way, it will be faster than my current computer, and that’s all I really wanted.

That’s all everyone! Now I may try to play Minecraft on my new laptop tomorrow but I may not be able to. We’ll see. I will be back tomorrow with another post and I will have a new mod review for Mod Monday!

Thanks for reading and Happy Mining!

Leave a Reply

