Mod Reviews

SLIME MOD

Published on December 26, 2011 by Jonah

Having trouble finding slimes? Want to make a sticky pistons but have no slime to go around? Then you need this! The slime mod. This mod will make finding slimes so much easier that you will find that you have too much slime and you need to get rid of it.

Rating:

     

—————————————————————————————————————————————-

VERTICAL REDSTONE MOD

Published on December 26, 2011 by Jonah

The vertical redstone mod allows you to put redstone on walls instead of having to make a more complicated circuit. This mod can be extremely helpful as I always want to make a redstone circuit and have a heck of a time with it because I can’t put redstone on walls. But is this mod as helpful as it seems?

Rating:

    

—————————————————————————————————————————————–

TREECAPITATOR MOD

Published on December 28, 2011 by Tyler

Treecapitator is an excellent mod that I’ve been using for a long time now. Basically it changes the properties of wood logs and trees, making all the logs of a tree fall when cut. However this feature only works when you cut the very bottom log of a tree with an axe. Nicely enough it doesn’t matter which axe you use, because they all do the same. The only difference is durability. Since you only need to cut one log of a tree instead of the usual 7 or so, axes last about 6-7 times longer than usual. And you can get a few stacks of  wood easily enough.

Rating:

    

—————————————————————————————————————————————-

DEATH CHEST MOD

Published on January 9, 2012 by Jonah

Have you ever died with a bunch of diamond gear or other important things in your inventory with no way of retrieving them? I know I have. With the Death Chest mod, you have a chance to save all of you stuff if you die. All you need is to have a chest in your inventory.

Rating:

    

—————————————————————————————————————————————–

HELICOPTER MOD

Published on January 21, 2012 by Tyler

Today I’m here to introduce you to the amazing Helicopter Mod! This mod has been long a work-in-progress, and now the mod has finally been released. The mod itself is nice, and easy, and the controls are easy.

Rating:

    

——————————————————————————————————————————————

MORE EXPLOSIVES MOD

Published on January 23, 2012 by Jonah

Rating:

    

——————————————————————————————————————————————-

LAND GENERATOR MOD

Published on February 25, 2012 by Tyler

Rating:

    

——————————————————————————————————————————————-

RADARBRO MOD

Published on March 23, 2012 by Jonah

We have a radar mod now! Cool right? Maybe this takes away some of the fear and fun from Minecraft now that you know where the creepers are at night, but still cool.

Rating:

    

——————————————————————————————————————————————–

WIRELESS REDSTONE MOD

Published on April 8, 2012 by Jonah

Rating:

    

—————————————————————————————————————————————–

PLANETOIDS MOD

Published on April 10, 2012 by Tyler

Hello, Tyler here to do a special mod review. Planetoids! Planetoids map generator generates a minecraft world which is filled with planet shaped pieces of land. These planets float in the air and offer a great challenge for those who want one.

Rating:

    

——————————————————————————————————————————————

MORE PISTONS MOD/INFOMERCIAL

Published on April 11, 2012 by Jonah

Rating:

    

——————————————————————————————————————————————

REI’S MINIMAP MOD

Published on May 16, 2012 by Tyler

As many of you probably know, there are a lot of mini-maps mods out there, and a lot of them have some features this mod doesn’t have. Primarily, this mod, without the permission of the server, will not show any entities nearby. Therefore you cannot use this mod to search for players nearby. As sad as that may be, it doesn’t matter much to me. I’ve never liked the entity maps, and any “cheating” mod as they take the fun away from the game. Where other mini-maps advance in entity detection, Rei’s makes up for it in quality and features.

Rating:

    

——————————————————————————————————————————————-

OPTIFINE MOD

Published on May 27, 2012 by Jonah

Do you have a crappy computer? Are you sick of playing Minecraft on Short distance with 20-30 fps? Would you like to be able to see the beautiful sunset? If you answered yes to any of these questions then you need this! OPTIFINE!

Optifine is a wonderful mod which has the potential to greatly increase the speed at which Minecraft plays. This mod adds numerous options to play with that I will show you in a second. With these options you can improve the performance and the quality of the game. This mod also introduces something new which those of you with super computers will probably love.

Rating:

    

——————————————————————————————————————————————-

ENCHANTING PLUS MOD

Published on June 23, 2012 by Jonah

So do you hate the randomness of enchanting? Yes of course you do. Well the Enchanting Plus mod allows you to do several things: Customize your enchantments, remove enchantments on a certain item (if you really want to, you get some xp back), repair items (costs xp though), and transfer enchantments from one item to another (this can cost xp). Cool right? I think so.

Rating:

    

——————————————————————————————————————————————-

FLASH SHELTER MOD

Published on July 3, 2012 by Tyler

We’ve all had those moments in Minecraft, where we are far away from home, with very little health or hunger bar left, surrounded by enemy mobs. At this point many of us would either give up, run, or possibly try to fight them all off. Nearly all of the time, those methods don’t work out at all, and we end up dying. Luckily enough, we respawn in the safety of our homes, but the real problem is that we lost all of our hard work gathering materials. If only there was a way to guarantee survival against the mobs, at least until sunrise.

Rating:

    

——————————————————————————————————————————————-

ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE MOD

Published on July 5, 2012 by Tyler

Have you ever wanted to add a bit of challenge to Minecraft? Ever find yourself looking for the next toughest mod out there? Were you waiting impatiently for new mobs to fight, for the hardcore difficulty to come out? Well wait no longer. I present to you, a fresh off the Java bakery, The Zombie Apocalypse Mod!

Rating:

    

——————————————————————————————————————————————-

MATERIAL DETECTOR MOD

Published on July 11, 2012 by Jonah

This mod is similar to Rei’s Minimap in that it shows a map on the screen. But this map shows where minerals are. This mod is intended to make mining go a lot faster and get you your diamonds a lot easier. The map is customizable and can be toggled on/off in-game. Let’s take a look at this mod.

Rating:

    

——————————————————————————————————————————————-

POWERCRAFT MOD

Published on July 19, 2012 by Jonah

Powercraft is a factory mod which adds many new features to Minecraft. Elevators, conveyor belts, harvesters, dispensers, teleporters; these are a few of the great additions. With these new tools you can create machines to run automatically. Check out this great mod.

Rating:

    

——————————————————————————————————————————————-

MUTANT CREEPER MOD

Published on July 23, 2012 by Tyler

As if a normal creeper wasn’t scary enough, this mod introduces a new super-powered creeper. With the power to spawn minion creepers, create explosive jump attacks, and heal itself, this mutant creeper brings fear to a new level. Even Chuck Norris would be afraid of this monstrosity, not Batman though. Because HE’S BATMAN!

Rating:

    

——————————————————————————————————————————————-

FARMCRAFT MOD

Published on July 30, 2012 by Jonah

I found this mod a few weeks ago and I have been excited to test it out. This mod was made by Joseph552. It adds new plants and trees into Minecraft, and some other items as well. With new plants comes new food. Let’s find out if this mod was as exciting as I thought.

Rating:

    

——————————————————————————————————————————————-

SHELF MOD

Published on August 7, 2012 by Jonah

Here is a very simple mod. The Shelf Mod, which comes from the mind of Risugami, who is responsible for other mods such as Modloader, Death Chest, Recipe Book, and more. This mod, as the name suggests, adds shelves to Minecraft. These shelves act as miniature chests, the difference, however, is that the items will be displayed on the outside.

Rating:

    

——————————————————————————————————————————————-

TOOMANYITEMS MOD

Published on August 13, 2012 by Jonah

TooManyItems is a very helpful mod. This mod, when you open up the inventory screen, displays all of the blocks and items in Minecraft so that you can spawn them in. It will even include other blocks and items included in any mod that you have downloaded. If you want to turn off the TMI screen, just press the “O” button. This mod also has a few other helpful features, read on to see.

Rating:

    

——————————————————————————————————————————————-

MO’ ZOMBIES MOD

Published on August 20, 2012 by Jonah

This mod, Mo’ Zombies, does what you think it would do, add more zombies to the game. It adds 12 new zombies as well as one other mob. These zombies each get a unique appearance and special abilities. From surviving in sunlight, killing the player in one hit, and having faster speed, each zombie is unique and some are quite scary.

Rating:

    

——————————————————————————————————————————————-

NETHERLIVE MOD

Published on August 27, 2012 by Jonah

Have you ever tried to live in the Nether? Not very easy, I know. There are no ores, trees, or any of that common stuff that we take for granted in the Overworld. Well, this mod looks to change that, in a big way.

Rating:

    

——————————————————————————————————————————————-

INSTANT LAKE BLOCK MOD

Published on September 5, 2012 by Jonah

Three new items are added to Minecraft with this mod. An instant lake block, an instant lava pool block, and a magic bucket. If you want to fill up a giant hole (or creeper hole) with some water to make it into a nice little pond, that may take some time, unless you have this mod.

Rating:

    

——————————————————————————————————————————————-

UTILITY CHESTS MOD

Published on September 14, 2012 by Jonah

This mod is called Utility Chests and was created by watkins577. This mod adds 5 new chests to Minecraft, each with their own purpose. They are the Networked Chest, Tools Chest, Ores Chest, Grabber Chest, and Smelter Chest.

Rating:

    

——————————————————————————————————————————————–

DRAGON MOUNTS MOD2012-12-15_14.07.24

Published on December 19, 2012 by Tyler

This mod, Dragon mounts by BarracudaATA, allows you to take the useless dragon egg that the enderdragon drops, and hatch your own dragon. After you hatch the dragon, you can then tame the dragon and saddle it to take to the skies.

Rating;

diamond color small diamond color small diamond color small diamond color small diamond color small

————————————————————————————————————————————————

HAVE A MOD YOU THINK WE SHOULD TRY OUT? LET US KNOW IN A COMMENT OR VIA EMAIL AT theblockbrothers@hotmail.com

9 comments on “Mod Reviews

    • I can agree with that. Like Jonah said, if there’s any mods that you would like us to review specifically, we would love to do that! Don’t hesitate to leave a comment or email us suggestions.

      • If you could review Redpower2 or ComputerCraft that would be good but they are both big mods and I don’t want to be a hassle

      • I was watching MineTV today from Minecraft Forum and they mentioned Redpower 2, so I was thinking about that one. I have never heard of ComputerCraft though. Anyway, we’ll check them out. Thanks.

    • Funny story about that…Tyler said that he was going to do a review on it almost a year ago, but he hasn’t gotten around to it yet. Apparently he has a hard time installing it and isn’t able to do a review on it. Hopefully he will get around to it soon.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s