Minecraft/Mojang News 11/12-11/18 (323/365)

Hello world! It’s Sunday, which means it’s time for some news. Let’s begin.

MINECRAFT PC HITS 8 MILLION SALES-

It was either very late on Sunday or very early on Monday when Minecraft passed the 8 million mark. With 4 million Xbox sales, and 2 million handheld sales, Minecraft has sold over 14 million copies! Holy crap.

Also, the PC version is the 9th most popular PC game out there, which sort of says a lot when a lot of those PC games are Sims related. (Source)

Congrats to Mojang, 4J Studios, and everyone else involved with Minecraft.

1.4.4 RELEASE/1.4.5 PRE-RELEASE-

We finally got an official release for the latest 1.4 patch this week. 1.4.4 came out on Wednesday which fixed over 120 issues. However, it also opened the door to new problems, as usual. Because of that there is a new pre-release available now, 1.4.5. This patch will be released on Tuesday.

Then maybe a 1.5 snapshot some time soon? I love bug fixes and all, but I’m interested to see what they’re going to do with 1.5.

POCKET EDITION 0.5.0 RELEASED-

Pocket Edition also got an update this week. On Thursday we finally got the 0.5.0 version of Minecraft PE. Here are the newest additions:

  • Paintings
  • Mushroom farming
  • Melons
  • Zombie pigmen
  • Nether Reactor (wait…what?)
  • Glowstone
  • Tweaks and bug fixes

Hold on a second…what the heck is a Nether Reactor. It is a PE only item, and, to be honest, I don’t really understand it. Here is the Wiki page on it…see if you can make sense of it.

MINECON 2012 APPROACHES-

There isn’t much to talk about for this bit of news, but Minecon starts next weekend. Nov. 24-25 at Disneyland, Paris…the biggest Minecraft party ever…and Tyler and I are stuck here in the U.S., probably doing homework. Ugh. The life of a poor college student.

BLOG NEWS-

There’s not much to talk about here either. However, on behalf of both Tyler and I, I would like to apologize for our lower quality and sometimes late posts over the last week or so. At this time of the year, with Thanksgiving and Christmas approaching, college students get lazy with their homework. And while it isn’t graded like the rest of my homework, I do consider the blog part of my homework. Even stranger is the fact that sometimes I put more effort into the post than in my homework.

The only other bit of news that I can think of is the fact that I managed to update all the pages on Friday. I had been procrastinating on it for far too long and I was actually motivated to do it for once. We will try to be better about keeping them updated.

I do believe that’s all the news for this week.

Thanks for reading and Happy Mining!